I’ll Take One of Each Thanks!

 

Nope I’m not referring to the apothecary of tablets at the chemist counter when your child is teething, or the wine list after a bloody long week of parenting. Nope. I’ll take one of each today refers to parenting types. Wait! Parenting types? Yep you know those stereotypical memes you see plastered all over social media. The Boss mum, the dishevelled Mum, the organic mum and the Baking Mum, just to name a few. How do I know they exist? Well it’s because since becoming a Mum, I feel like I’ve been bombarded with quizzes and questionnaires on which category I have fallen into. And to be honest, I feel like I’m back in high school filling out the CLEO Sex Quiz, minus all the sex we were hoping to have.

These categories are in every mothering magazine, website and YouTube parody I’ve come across on my late night (2 year old is still awake) streaming.
I’ve been thinking do I really fit into one box? And I have to say I don’t. People’s perceptions of me may fit me into a certain “mothering category” but I think I’m more complex than a check box questionnaire.

Some days (Tuesday’s and Thursday’s) I’m that corporate Mum. Dropping my kid at daycare in the pantsuit (albeit not dry cleaned) but still feeling like the Boss Mum. Those days I would reference myself to a straight up espresso coffee, I mean business. But the next day will be a home day and that means pulling out the overalls for digging up dirt, painting the backyard concrete and letting it all go. Those days I feel more like a chai latte with coconut milk, I’m free and unconventional and getting back to nature. Flash forward to a sick day (which happen a lot) I am still in my pyjamas whilst my son watches YouTube videos of Garbage trucks for the umpteenth time. Now those days I feel like a weak black tea, I could use a little milk but I’m not going to the grocery store today. Or the times I’m running late and I forgot the 33 stuffed animals I am meant to bring in the car for the 10 minute drive, to arrive and have forgotten the snacks. Those days I am a decaf latte, I look like me but I haven’t got that kick.

The world will also see you as a type of Mum, and when people say “you’re so together, you work, study, be a mother, have extracurricular activities and stay up baking sugar free-dairy free cookies for mothers group).” I think no that is just the perception I put out into the world, that’s not who I am 24 hours a day. You are just seeing my non-burnt milk, perfectly poured latte side today.

Regardless of your parenting or how you are taking your coffee today, you can encompass multiple types. Just as your beverage choice  will differ on the sleep you have had, your parenting type may chop and change. I know if my son has one consistent element to his day, that I loved him and cared for him with every part of me than that’s a parent I’m happy to tick myself off as.

Signing off as an iced coffee Mum today,
Because it’s hot and I need the caffeine..

Rosanna Wilson. Brighton. Melbourne
Founder of MumBubandaBarista

Rosanna Wilson is currently a full time mum to one and student.
She writes about her relationship with coffee, and how it parallels to her role as a mother. She is on a journey to find kid friendly, fashionable cafes for herself and her social two year old. She lives a breathes locale bayside.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kerry says:

    Love your posts Rose they always make me smile x think you may have played down your baking skills though as I distinctly remember loving the dairy free cookies, and the muffins, and the fudge, and the cookies, and the marshmallow dip (you wicked woman), and the soup and the bolognaise…. I could go on! To us you are a bottomless cup of mocha with cream on top (strength and sweetness with a naughty side) x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Kerry I love that mocha reference :))) I’ll keep that one. If only my 2 year old enjoyed my baking as much as my beautiful mothers group xx I love writing and have your feel happier when u read. Mission accomplished ❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

